He told me why he was an Atheist

The guy told me he had read the Bible, the whole Bible three times and was an atheist. I seriously doubt that he read the whole thing three times, but let’s believe him anyway. He said the one verse that is the greatest reason to be an atheist is 1 Corinthians 13:11; I was intrigued. So, I said let’s look at the verse, “When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things.”

It is so sad that so many people will take Bible verse and twist it around to support what they want to believe. You know, that is how things work…first you decide what you want to believe, then you find arguments to support that  what you wish to believe. I guess this guy is trying to equate the Bible and the belief in God as being childish; he could not be farther from the truth. Sad…so sad!

Most often when you become an adult your focus is centered on and around the culture, on achievement, on obtaining things. These can and will become your idols and draw you away from God. That is why Jesus said in 1 Corinthians 13:11 to come to Me as these little children…a child believes untarnished by the world’s distractions and sinfulness. Jesus wants you to come to Him! …not to ONLY come when you were a child!

Leave a Reply

